You are here : Home > ProMD team > Proteomics, Metals and Differentiation team

Proteomics, Metals and Differentiation team

Published on 24 January 2019



Team leader

Dr Thierry Rabilloud,
DR2 CNRS, HDR
Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble cedex 9
Phone: 04 38 78 32 12
Fax: 04 38 78 44 99

Staff members

Projects

Names

Position

ETP

Macrophages and nanoparticles Thierry Rabilloud CNRS researcher
100%
Catherine Aude-Garcia CEA researcher
80%
Véronique Collin-Faure CEA technician
50%
Bacteria and nanoparticles Cécile Lelong Associate Pr. UJF
80%
Sylvie Luche UJF technician
80%
Radio-induced infammation Serge Candéias CEA researcher
100%
Isabelle Testard CEA researcher
100%

The research team develops three interconnected themes, in addition to technological developments for proteomics, running as a background project. The central project deals with the responses of myeloid cells to metallic ions and nanoparticles, and two other projects are connected to it. One project deals with the responses of the bacterium Bacillus subtilis to metallic ions and nanoparticles and also uses a combination of proteomic and targeted approaches. The third project is centered on molecular studies in radio-induced inflammation, with a focus on the activation and function of macrophages in this process.

General theme and rationale of the research project

An important part of the team studies how metallic ions and metallic oxides impact cells. For example, there is a clear relationship between various diseases and the phagocytosis of toxic (nano)particulate material by myeloid cells including macrophages, which are highly phagocytic. This is for example the case for asbestos and mesotheliomas, silica and silicosis, and this is also highly suspected for at least part of the toxic effects of tobacco smoke or diesel particles.
This relation is due to the primary scavenging function of some myeloid cells such as macrophages. When such cells phagocyte particles, they try to degrade them in their lysosomes. This can lead to the liberation of toxics adsorbed on the phagocytized particles. In the case of metal-containing particles, the toxics can be heavy metal ions or transition metal ions that will be dissolved by the acidic conditions prevailing in the lysosome. Besides such toxic effects, macrophage activation following phagocytosis of particulate material also results in the production of pro-inflammatory mediators, and this inflammation, if it becomes chronic, can be part of the etiology of some diseases such as cancer. Some of these factors are known, such as TNF, IL-6 or IL-12, but the complete scope of these proteins is not known yet.
There is thus a high interest to understand how myeloid cells and especially macrophages react to particles, and especially to metal containing nanoparticles, as well as the corresponding metallic ions. Our project goes beyond the simple observation of toxic effects, and aims at providing molecular mechanisms for a better understanding of the effects of these agents. Classically, this type of research is carried out by focused approaches on targets selected on the basis of previous knowledge; we will not neglect such approaches. However, we also believe that proteomics can deliver significant knowledge, owing to its wide and unbiased scope. Indeed, some work exists in this direction, either on the toxicity of metallic ions or on the effects of metallic oxide particles.
This mixed targeted-wide scope combination of approaches is also used when studying the responses of the soil bacterium Bacillus subtilis to nanoparticles, as this bacterium has an important ecotoxicological role.
Last but not least, the theme centered on radio-induced inflammation also studies the role of soluble mediators such as cytokines and chemokines in a model of sterile inflammation different from that induced by nanoparticles, in which myeloid cells most certainly have an important function. Work is also performed to identify the cellular factors involved in the production of these mediators.


Core research actions

Proteomics study of the effects of metals on cells

In this subproject, we study by proteomics the effects of metal ions and metallic particles on myeloid cells and on bacteria.
To investigate the effects of metallic particles and ions by proteomics, we use the same staggered strategy that we have used to investigate the differentiation of these cells. First, we will perform a comparative proteomics analysis at the scale of whole cell extracts. In this case, the fact that proteomics mainly shows the cellular stress response proteins will not be a problem, as this is exactly what we want to investigate, i.e. the details of the stress response that is made by the cells under the various conditions tested. Depending on the context and on the molecular responses revealed by this first stage, we can perform other proteomic studies (e.g. secretome, metalloproteomics via affinity chromatography).


Targeted studies

While proteomics offer the power of large scale and unbiased studies, its requirements in terms of sample consumption and its limitations in the analysis of lower abundance proteins does not make it a suitable tool for the detailed analysis of precise phenomena, especially for in vivo studies where the sample resources are often limited. This is why we also carry out targeted studies on the response of cells to various stimuli, including metals. As the scope of such studies can be overwhelmingly high, we use the know-how present in the team. These targeted studies can be focused on certain classes of molecules (e.g. cytokines, inflammasome), on core function of the macrophages (e.g. phagocytosis) or be used as a validation of the mechanisms highlighted by the proteomic analyses. Technically speaking, these studies use biochemistry as well as flow cytometry or qRT-PCR. As an example, our recent work on copper oxide nanoparticles drove us to investigate mitochondrial proteins and glutathione biosynthesis (Triboulet et al., Molecular and Cellular Proteomics, 2013).

Technology for proteomics

We are also deeply implicated in technological projects aiming at improving the performances of the proteomics toolbox, especially in the field of protein separation. We strongly believe that proteomics must continue to deal with complete proteins with their associated post-translational modifications, and cannot be reduced only to the study of digestion peptides, with the associated loss of filiation between the proteins and the peptides. We are thus working in the field of protein solubilization prior to electrophoresis, on the improvement of the electrophoretic methods per se, on the field of protein detection after gel and also on dedicated sample preparation methods fpr specific classes of proteins electrophoresis (see the associated bibliography of the team).

Insertion in the national and international context

Our team takes part in several national and international networks and initiatives, such as the national Labex SERENADE (centered on nanoparticles) or the EU network DOREMI (low doses irradiation).

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Eq. ProMD > Présentation de l'équipe Protéomique, métaux et différenciation

Présentation de l'équipe Protéomique, métaux et différenciation

Publié le 22 janvier 2019



Chef d'équipe

Dr Thierry Rabilloud,
DR2 CNRS, HDR
Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble cedex 9
Tel. : 04 38 78 32 12
Fax : 04 38 78 44 99


Membres de l'équipe

ProjetsNomsPoste
ETP
Thème macrophages et nanoparticules Thierry RabilloudDR2 CNRS
100%
Catherine Aude-Garciachercheur CEA
80%
Véronique Collin-FaureTech. CEA
50%
Thème bactéries et nanoparticules Cécile LelongMC UJF
80%
Sylvie LucheTech UJF
80%
Thème inflammation radio-induiteSerge Candéiaschercheur CEA
100%
Isabelle Testardchercheur CEA
100%

L'équipe développe trois thèmes de recherche interconnectés. Le projet pivot est consacré à la réponse des cellules myéloïdes aux nanoparticules et aux ions métalliques, et une part de l'activité de recherche est aussi consacrée à l'amélioration de l'analyse protéomique. Un autre projet, relié au précédent par les technologies utilisées et par la dimension de toxicologie des nanoparticules, étudie les réponses de la bactérie B. subtilis aux nanoparticules et aux ions métalliques. Enfin, le dernier thème, relié au thème pivot par le système des macrophages et par l'étude de l'inflammation, étudie l'activation et la fonction des macrophages dans l'inflammation induite par les radiations ionisantes en utilisant plusieurs modèles cellulaires.

Thème général et bases du projet de recherche

Une partie importante de l'équipe étudie la réponse des cellules aux ions et nanoparticules métalliques. Pour le thème centré sur les macrophages, il y a en effet un lien très clair entre certaines pathologies et la phagocytose de (nano)particules toxiques par les cellules myéloïdes, par exemple dans l'asbestose et la silicose, et ce lien est fortement suspecté pour les effets de la fumée de cigarette et pour les particules diesel.
De fait, c'est le rôle des phagocytes professionnels (par exemple les macrophages) qui est mis en avant. Quand ces cellules phagocytent des particules, elles essaient de les dégrader dans leurs lysosomes, ce qui peut conduire à libérer des éléments toxiques, par exemple des ions métalliques dans le cas de nanoparticules métalliques. En plus de cet effet toxique primaire, la phagocytose peut aussi conduire à la production de nombreux médiateurs solubles, dont des cytokines pro-inflammatoires. Or s'il est connu qu'une inflammation chronique est impliquée dans plusieurs pathologies, le spectre des molécules produites par les macrophages en réaction à une phagocytose est encore imparfaitement connu.
Il est donc particulièrement intéressant de mieux connaître la réponse des cellules myéloïdes, et en particulier des macrophages, aux particules, et en particulier aux nanoparticules métalliques, mais aussi aux ions métalliques associés. Le but de notre projet est d'aller au delà de la simple description des effets toxiques, et vise à fournir des mécanismes moléculaires pour une meilleure compréhension des effets des particules et des ions.
Ce type de recherche est habituellement mené via des approches classiques utilisant des cibles connues, et notre projet fera aussi appel à ce type de recherche. En revanche, nous pensons que des approches à large spectre comme l'approche protéomique sont utiles dans ce type de recherche, et nous utiliserons aussi intensivement ces approches.
Ces approches mixtes sont aussi déclinées pour le thème de recherche étudiant la réponse de la bactérie Bacillus subtilis aux nanoparticules métalliques, cette bactérie majeure du sol ayant un rôle écotoxicologique évident.
Enfin, le thème sur l'inflammation radio-induite vise lui aussi à étudier le rôle des médiateurs solubles, dont les cytokines, dans un contexte d'inflammation stérile différent de celui induit par les nanoparticules, mais où les cellules myéloïdes jouent probablement aussi un rôle important. Ce thème s'intéresse également plus en détail à certains des mécanismes moléculaires présidant à la production des médiateurs solubles de l'inflammation et à leurs effets.


Actions de recherche

Étude protéomique des effets des métaux sur les cellules

Dans cette partie du projet, nous étudions par analyse protéomique les effets des ions et nanoparticules métalliques sur les cellules myéloïdes ou sur les bactéries.
Pour ce faire, nous utilisons une stratégie par étapes. Nous réalisons tout d'abord une analyse protéomique comparative d'extraits cellulaires totaux, ce qui nous permet d'avoir accès aux réponses aux stress mises en jeu par les cellules. Selon les contextes d'études et les mécanismes moléculaires mis en jeu, d'autres analyses protéomiques (sécrétome, analyse de métalloprotéomique par chromatographie d'affinité) peuvent alors être réalisées.


Études ciblées

Même si l'analyse protéomique offre des possibilités d'étude à très large spectre, ses besoins en termes de quantité de matériel biologique et ses limites dans l'analyse des protéines minoritaires en font un outil peu adapté pour l'analyse détaillée de phénomènes précis. C'est pourquoi nous menons des études ciblées en parallèle de nos études protéomiques. Ces études peuvent aussi bien se focaliser sur des molécules précises (par exemple cytokines, inflammasome) que sur des fonctions classiques du macrophage (par exemple phagocytose ou production de NO) ou encore venir en validation des pistes moléculaires soulevées par l'analyse protéomique. Ces études utilisent aussi bien la biochimie que la cytométrie en flux ou encore la qRT-PCR. A titre d'exemple, nos travaux récents sur les nanoparticules d'oxyde de cuivre nous ont conduit à nous intéresser aux protéines mitochondriales ainsi qu'à la synthèse de glutathion (Triboulet et al., Molecular and Cellular Proteomics, 2013).

Technologies pour l'analyse protéomique

Notre équipe est aussi reconnue pour ses travaux visant à améliorer les performances de l'outil protéomique, tout spécialement en ce qui concerne les méthodes de séparation des protéines.
Nous pensons que l'analyse protéomique doit continuer à s'intéresser aux protéines entières avec leur cortège de modifications post-traductionnelles, et ne peut pas seulement se réduire à l'étude des peptides issus de la digestion des protéines, du fait de la perte de la connaissance de la filiation précise entre les différentes formes protéiques et les peptides qui en découlent. Comme le montre notre production scientifique, nos travaux dans le domaine portent aussi bien sur la solubilisation des protéines que sur les méthodes électrophorétiques sensu stricto, mais aussi sur les méthodes de détection des protéines après électrophorèse ou encore des méthodes dédiées à des classes particulières de protéines.


Insertion dans le contexte national et international

Notre équipe est insérée dans plusieurs réseaux et initiatives nationales et internationales dont relèvent ses thèmes de recherche, comme le Labex national SERENADE (étude des nanoparticules) ou le réseau européen DOREMI (étude des faibles doses d'irradiation).