You are here : Home > BioCat team > Welcome to the Biocatalysis team

Welcome to the Biocatalysis team

Published on 25 May 2020
Team leader

 Dr. Sandrine Ollagnier-de Choudens
Director of research at the CNRS
Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux
CEA-Grenoble
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble Cedex 09
Phone: (33) 4 38 78 91 22

Biography

Secretary
Nathalie Atta
Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux
CEA-Grenoble
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble Cedex 09
Phone: (33) 4 38 78 91 02
Fax: (33) 4 38 78 91 24


Team members

Mohamed Atta
CEA Researcher
Victor Duarte
CNRS
Researcher
Catherine Gerez
UGA Assistant Professor
Vincent Nivière
CNRS Researcher
Sandrine Ollagnier de Choudens
Head since Jan. 2016
CNRS Researcher
Martin Pelosse
Postdoctoral fellow
Christian Basset
CEA Technician
Christelle Caux
CNRS Assistant Engineer
Philippe Carpentier
CNRS Research Engineer


Presentation

Our research team is composed of biochemists and one crystallographer interested in metal-catalyzed biotransformations. The research projects are located at the interface between chemistry and biology, as far as concepts but also methods are concerned. Our research activity aims at understanding at a molecular level the reactivity of metal-containing proteins and the assembly of their metallic sites. Our metal of interest is IRON (Fe), encountered in Iron-sulfur clusters, hemes and binuclear iron sites. Most of our projects have applications in the health field, with the discovery and synthesis of new antimicrobial agents.
We use biochemistry, spectroscopy, crystallography and chemistry methods (in collaboration with LCBM teams) to study our metal-containing proteins. As far as possible, we are collaborating with biologists/microbiologists to understand the biological processes to which we are interested in from in vitro to in vivo.


Research topics

Iron-Sulfur Cluster biogenesis
Radical-SAM enzymes
Iron-containing enzymes and antibacterial agents
Iron-containing enzymes and cellular detoxification processes
Metalloenzymes and Plastic degradation

Specialized techniques

Most of the experiments are performed under controlled atmospheres using glove boxes for anaerobic cell growth, protein purification, enzymatic assays, spectroscopic analysis (UV-visible absorption), protein-protein interaction (BLI device) and preparation of samples for EPR, Mössbauer and EXAFS spectroscopies. Crystallogenesis of proteins can also be performed under anaerobiosis in the BioCat team which is in charge of a platform of crystallogenesis and crystallography dedicated to metallo-proteins.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Eq. BioCat > Équipe Biocatalyse

Équipe Biocatalyse

Publié le 25 mai 2020
Responsable

 Dr. Sandrine Ollagnier-de Choudens
Directrice de Recherches CNRS
Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux
CEA-Grenoble
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble cedex 09

Tel : (33) 4 38 78 91 22

Biographie

Secrétariat de l'équipe :
Nathalie Atta
Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux
CEA-Grenoble
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble cedex 09
Tel. : (33) 4 38 78 91 02
Fax : (33) 4 38 78 91 24


Membres de l'équipe

Mohamed Atta
Chercheur CEA
Victor Duarte
Chercheur CNRS
Catherine Gerez
Maître de Conférences UGA
Vincent Nivière
Chercheur CNRS
Sandrine Ollagnier de Choudens
Responsable de l'équipe Biocatalyse,
Chercheur CNRS
Martin Pelosse
Post-doctorant
Christian Basset
Technicien CEA
Christelle Caux
Assistante Ingénieur CNRS
Philippe Carpentier
Ingénieur de Recherche CNRS


Présentation

Notre équipe de recherche est composée de biochimistes et d'un cristallographe qui s'intéressent aux biotransformations catalysées par les métaux. Les projets de recherche de l’équipe se situent à l'interface entre la chimie et la biologie, en ce qui concerne les concepts mais aussi les méthodes. Notre activité de recherche vise à comprendre au niveau moléculaire la réactivité des protéines contenant des métaux et l'assemblage de leurs sites métalliques. Notre métal d'intérêt est le FER (Fe), rencontré dans les clusters fer-soufre (Fe-S), les hèmes et les binucléaires de fer. La plupart de nos projets ont des applications dans le domaine de la santé, avec la découverte et la synthèse de nouveaux agents antimicrobiens.
Nous utilisons des méthodes de biochimie, de spectroscopie, de cristallographie et de chimie (en collaboration avec les équipes du LCBM) pour étudier nos systèmes contenant des métaux. Dans la mesure du possible, nous collaborons avec des biologistes/microbiologistes pour comprendre les processus biologiques auxquels nous nous intéressons, de l'in vitro à l'in vivo.


Sujets de recherche

Biogenèse des centres fer-soufre
Enzymes Radical-SAM
Enzymes à fer et agents antibactériens
Enzymes à fer et processus de détoxification cellulaire
Métalloenzymes et dégradation des plastiques

Techniques spécialisées

La plupart des expériences sont réalisées sous atmosphère contrôlée en utilisant des boîtes à gants pour la croissance cellulaire anaérobie, la purification des protéines, les essais enzymatiques, les études spectroscopiques (absorption UV-visible), l’étude des interactions protéine-protéine (dispositif BLI) et la préparation des échantillons pour les analyses par spectroscopies RPE, Mössbauer et EXAFS. La cristallogenèse des protéines peut également être réalisée sous anaérobiose dans l'équipe BioCat qui est en charge d'une plate-forme de cristallogenèse et de cristallographie dédiée aux métallo-protéines.