You are here : Home > BioCat team > Research topics of the team > Iron-containing enzymes and cellular detoxification processes

Iron-containing enzymes and cellular detoxification processes

Published on 19 May 2020
V. Nivière, C. Caux

The understanding of the catalytic mechanisms of original enzyme systems in relation with their functions within the cells represents a major challenge in modern biology. As part of this problem, my current researches focus on the molecular and structural studies of two different enzyme systems involved in cellular detoxification processes:

• Superoxide reductase SOR, a metalloenzyme involved in the fight against oxidative stress
• MsrPQ, a new discovered system repairing oxidized methionine residues, allowing bacterial resistance to hypochlorous acid (HOCl) stress.


Superoxide reductase SOR: characterization of reaction intermediates Fe3+-OOH and formation of high valent Fe=O species

Some anaerobic and microaerophilic bacteria tolerate the presence of oxygen thanks to a new type of antioxidant enzyme, the superoxide reductase SOR. Discovered in 2000 by our team, SOR catalyzes the detoxification of the superoxide radical O2-, a reactive form of oxygen, by a one electron reduction:

O2•- + 1 e- + 2 H+→ H2O2 (SOR)

SOR is a small 14 kDa metalloprotein. Its active site consists of an atypical non-heme mononuclear iron center, coordinated by four nitrogen atoms of histidine in an equatorial plane and a sulfur atom of a cysteine in an axial position (Figure 1):


Figure 1: SOR active site.

In the Fe2+ state, the sixth coordination position is free. It is the site where superoxide binds to be reduced into H2O2. This inner sphere reduction mechanism leads to the formation of a ferric iron hydroperoxide (Fe3+-OOH) intermediate, resulting from the one electron transfer from Fe2+ to the superoxide, together with a protonation process.
We succeeded in trapping this intermediary by mutating amino acid residues from the second coordination sphere, which allowed its stabilization. The intermediate was characterized by resonance Raman and its structure was resolved by X-ray diffraction (Figure 2). This work was published in the journal Science (Science, 2007, 316(5823): 449-453):


Figure 2: X-ray structure at 1.9 Å resolution of the Fe3+-OOH intermediate trapped in the SOR active site.

The X-ray structure suggests the involvement of lysine 48 in the protonation of the proximal oxygen of Fe3+-OOH to form the final product H2O2. This second protonation process appears to be one of the key points in the SOR reaction mechanism.

Katona G, Carpentier P, Niviere V, Amara P, Adam V, Ohana J, Tsanov N and Bourgeois D. Raman-assisted crystallography reveals end-on peroxide intermediates in a nonheme iron enzyme. Science, 2007, 316(5823): 449-453

Control of the evolution of the Fe3+-OOH intermediate and formation of an Iron-oxo species in SOR
The SOR active site presents remarkable similarities to that of cytochrome P450-type oxygenases: (i) The coordination of the iron is identical in these two enzymes, FeN4S1 type, with a same geometry; (ii) These two enzymes form the same Fe3+-OOH reaction intermediate during their catalytic cycle.
However, in the case of oxygenases, the Fe3+-OOH intermediate is cleaved between its two oxygen atoms to form a highly reactive species, a high-valent Iron-oxo (Fe=O) species. This Fe=O is can oxidize very stable chemical bonds within different substrates. On the other hand, in the case of SOR, the cleavage of the Fe3+-OOH intermediate occurs between the iron atom and the proximal oxygen to form hydrogen peroxide:


Figure 3: Comparison of the active sites of SOR and cytochrome P450 and difference in the evolution of their Fe3+-OOH intermediate.

The question is therefore to know what are the factors which determine the fate of the Fe3+-OOH intermediate in these two systems. Could the presence of the heme in cytochrome P450 or other elements such as residues of the second coordination sphere play a major role?
It is on this issue that we are working on SOR and currently we are studying the role of the protein environment in the evolution of the Fe3+-OOH intermediate.
Previous works showed that Lysine 48 could be involved in the protonation of the proximal oxygen of the intermediate. Also, Isoleucine 118, whose peptidic NH forms a hydrogen bond with the ligand sulfur of cysteine, could modulate the properties of the Fe3+-OOH species by trans effect.
By Raman resonance, we have shown that the mutation of each of these two residues leads to the formation of an Iron-oxo species in the SOR active site (Figure 4):


Figure 4: Changes in the iron environment of the SOR active site lead to the formation of an Iron-oxo species.

These results demonstrate the importance of the second coordination sphere of the SOR ferric site to control the evolution of the Fe3+-OOH intermediate.

This work will be continue along two complementary lines:
• Development of QM-MM theoretical calculations in order to better characterize the elements that lead to the formation of an Iron-oxo species in SOR.
• Studies of other residues of the second coordination sphere for their role in the evolution of the Fe3+-OOH intermediate.

In addition to the understanding of the catalytic mechanism of SOR, this work also opens up important perspectives for a detailed characterization of the mechanisms of oxygen activation and oxidation catalysis.

Collaboration
Pr. Anne Milet, Groupe Spectrométrie, Interactions, Chimie Théorique, Département de Chimie Moléculaire Université Grenoble Alpes, Grenoble

Publications
David R, Jamet H, Niviere V, Moreau Y and Milet A
Iron hydroperoxide intermediate in superoxide reductase: Protonation or dissociation first? MM dynamics and QM/MM metadynamics study.
Journal of Chemical Theory and Computation, 2017, 13(6): 2987-3004

Bonnot F, Tremey E, von Stetten D, Rat S, Duval S, Carpentier P, Clémancey M, Desbois A and Nivière V
Formation of high-valent iron-oxo species in superoxide reductase: Characterization by resonance Raman spectroscopy.
Angewandte Chemie International Edition, 2014, 53(23): 5926-5930

Rat S, Ménage S, Thomas F and Nivière V
Non-heme iron hydroperoxo species in superoxide reductase as a catalyst for oxidation reactions.
Chemical Communications (Camb), 2014, 50(91): 14213-14216



MsrPQ, a new system to repair oxidized methionines, involved in bacterial resistance to HOCl.

Hypochlorous acid HOCL is a highly oxidizing species, which has been shown to be particularly toxic to microorganisms. It is the active compound in bleach.

HOCL production is also the first line of defense used by the innate immune system to destroy bacteria and other pathogenic microorganisms. After phagocytosis of pathogens by neutrophils or macrophages, activation of NADPH oxidase NOX leads to a massive intra-phagosomal production of HOCl, which is the main mechanism for eliminating pathogens (Figure 5).


Figure 5: Neutrophil microbicide activity after phagocytosis.

We know that the main targets of HOCl are the methionine residues of bacterial proteins, which are heavily oxidized into methionine sulfoxide (Met-S=O). This type of oxidation causes strong alterations of the protein structures, inducing the loss of their activities as well as their functions. This process leads to the death of the pathogen.
Very recently, in 2015, it appeared that some bacteria express a completely new type of methionine sulfoxide reductase activity (Msr), able of neutralize the effect of HOCl by repairing the oxidized methionines. The singularity of this new Msr activity, called MsrPQ, lies into three main points (Figure 6):
i) Presence of a molybdenum cofactor in the active site of MsrP, while all the Msr characterized so far did not contain metal and functioned according to a chemistry involving a cysteine residue.
ii) Its periplasmic location.
iii) Specific association with a membrane cytochrome, called MsrQ, encoded within the same operon with MsrP.

With this multienzymatic system MsrPQ, bacteria are able to fully reverse the toxic effect of HOCl on periplasmic proteins.


Figure 6: Hypothesis on the organization and functioning of the MsrPQ system to repair oxidized methionines (Met-S=O).

Interestingly, some intracellular pathogenic bacteria present in their genomes a duplication of the MsrPQ operon, which is found in DNA sequences associated with pathogenicity islands. This suggests that the duplication of this operon could have an important role in the virulence of these pathogens.
Our project is to characterize in detail this new MsrPQ system from a molecular and structural point of view and to study the mechanisms of electron transfer, the specific interactions between the different partners, as well as the different aspects that control its overall activity.

Collaboration
Pr. Franck Fieschi, Groupe Membrane et Immunité, Institut de Biologie Structurale, 71 avenue des Martyrs, Grenoble

Publication
Juillan-Binard C, Picciocchi A, Andrieu JP, Dupuy J, Petit-Hartlein I, Caux-Thang C, Vives C, Niviere V and Fieschi F
A Two-component NADPH Oxidase (NOX)-like system in bacteria is involved in the electron transfer chain to the methionine sulfoxide reductase MsrP.
Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2017, 292(6): 2485-2494

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Eq. BioCat > Thématiques de recherche > Enzymes à fer et processus de détoxification cellulaire

Enzymes à fer et processus de détoxification cellulaire

Publié le 19 mai 2020
V. Nivière, C. Caux

La compréhension des mécanismes catalytiques de systèmes enzymatiques originaux en relation avec leurs fonctions au sein des cellules représente un défi majeur en biologie moderne. Dans ce cadre, nos recherches se concentrent sur des études moléculaires et structurales de deux systèmes enzymatiques différents impliqués dans les processus de détoxification cellulaire :

• Superoxyde réductase SOR, une métalloenzyme impliquée dans la lutte contre le stress oxydatif
• MsrPQ, un nouveau système récemment découvert pour la réparation des résidus de méthionine oxydés, permettant une résistance bactérienne au stress d'acide hypochloreux (HOCl).


La Superoxyde réductase SOR : intermédiaire réactionnel Fe3+-OOH et formation d’espèce Fer-oxo à haut degrés d’oxydation

Certaines bactéries anaérobies et microaérophiles tolèrent la présence d'oxygène grâce à une enzyme antioxydante, la superoxyde réductase (SOR). Découverte en 2000 par notre équipe, la SOR catalyse la détoxification du radical superoxyde O2-, une forme réactive de l'oxygène, par une réduction à un électron :

O2•- + 1 e- + 2 H+→ H2O2 (SOR)

La SOR est une petite métalloprotéine de 14 kDa. Son site actif consiste en un centre de fer mononucléaire non-hémique atypique, coordonné par quatre atomes d’azote d'histidines dans un plan équatorial et un atome de soufre d'une cystéine en position axiale (Figure 1):


Figure 1 : site actif de la SOR.

Dans l'état Fe2+, la sixième position de coordination est libre. C’est à ce niveau que se fixe le superoxyde pour être réduit en H2O2. Ce mécanisme de réduction par sphère interne conduit à la formation d’un intermédiaire de type fer ferrique hydroperoxyde (Fe3+-OOH), résultant du transfert d'un électron du Fe2+ vers le superoxyde et d’un processus de protonation.
Nous avons réussi à piéger cet intermédiaire en mutant des résidus d'acides aminés de la seconde sphère de coordination, ce qui a permis sa stabilisation. L'intermédiaire a été caractérisé par résonance Raman et sa structure a été résolue par diffraction des rayons X. Ce travail a été publié dans la revue Science (Science, 2007, 316(5823): 449-453):


Figure 2 : Structure RX à une résolution de 1,9 Å de l'intermédiaire Fe3+-OOH piégé dans le site actif de SOR.

La structure RX suggère notamment l'implication de la lysine 48 dans la protonation de l'oxygène proximal du Fe3+-OOH pour former le produit final H2O2. Cette deuxième étape de protonation apparaît comme un des points clés du mécanisme de réduction du superoxyde par la SOR.

Katona G, Carpentier P, Niviere V, Amara P, Adam V, Ohana J, Tsanov N and Bourgeois D. Raman-assisted crystallography reveals end-on peroxide intermediates in a nonheme iron enzyme. Science, 2007, 316(5823): 449-453

Contrôle de l’évolution de l’intermédiaire Fe3+-OOH et formation d’une espèce Fer-oxo dans la SOR
Le site actif de la SOR présente des similitudes remarquables avec celui des oxygénases de type cytochrome P450 : (i) la coordination du fer est identique pour ces deux enzymes, de type FeN4S1, avec une même géométrie ; (ii) ces deux enzymes forment un même intermédiaire réactionnel Fe3+-OOH au cours de leur cycle catalytique.
Cependant, dans le cas des oxygénases, l'intermédiaire Fe3+-OOH est clivé entre ses deux atomes d'oxygène pour former une entité hautement réactive, une espèce de Fer-oxo (Fe=O) à haut degrés de valence. Ce Fe=O est capable d'oxyder des liaisons chimiques particulièrement stables au sein de différents substrats. Par contre, dans le cas de la SOR, le clivage de l'intermédiaire Fe3+-OOH se produit entre l'atome de fer et l'oxygène proximal pour former le peroxyde d'hydrogène :


Figure 3 : Comparaison des sites actifs de la SOR et du cytochrome P450 et différence dans l’évolution de leur intermédiaire Fe3+-OOH.

La question est donc de savoir quels sont les facteurs qui guident le sort de l'intermédiaire Fe3+-OOH dans ces deux systèmes. Est-ce la présence de l'hème dans le cytochrome P450 ou d'autres éléments, tels que des résidus de la seconde sphère de coordination, pourraient-ils jouer un rôle prépondérant ?
C’est sur cette problématique que nous travaillons sur la SOR et actuellement nous étudions le rôle de l'environnement protéique dans l'évolution de l'intermédiaire Fe3+-OOH.
Des données antérieures suggèrent que la lysine 48 pourrait être impliquée dans la protonation de l'oxygène proximal de l'intermédiaire. De même, l'isoleucine 118, dont le NH peptidique forme une liaison hydrogène avec le soufre ligand de la cystéine, pourrait moduler les propriétés de l’espèces Fe3+-OOH par effet trans.
Par résonance Raman, nous avons montré que la mutation de chacun de ces deux résidus conduit à la formation d'une espèce Fer-oxo dans le site actif de SOR (Figure 4) :


Figure 4 : Des mutations de l’environnement du fer de la SOR conduisent à la formation d’une espèce Fer-oxo.

Ces résultats montrent l'importance de la seconde sphère de coordination du site ferrique de la SOR dans le contrôle de l'évolution de l'intermédiaire Fe3+-OOH.

Ce travail se poursuit selon deux axes complémentaires :
• Développement de calculs théoriques QM-MM afin de mieux comprendre les éléments qui conduisent à la formation d’une espèce Fer-oxo dans la SOR.
• Études d’autres résidus de la seconde sphère de coordination pour leur rôle dans l’évolution de l’intermédiaire Fe3+-OOH.

Outre l'intérêt de comprendre le mécanisme catalytique de la SOR, ce travail ouvre aussi des perspectives importantes pour une caractérisation détaillée des mécanismes d'activation de l'oxygène et de catalyse d'oxydation.

Collaboration
Pr. Anne Milet, Groupe Spectrométrie, Interactions, Chimie Théorique, Département de Chimie Moléculaire Université Grenoble Alpes, Grenoble

Publications
David R, Jamet H, Niviere V, Moreau Y and Milet A
Iron hydroperoxide intermediate in superoxide reductase: Protonation or dissociation first? MM dynamics and QM/MM metadynamics study.
Journal of Chemical Theory and Computation, 2017, 13(6): 2987-3004

Bonnot F, Tremey E, von Stetten D, Rat S, Duval S, Carpentier P, Clémancey M, Desbois A and Nivière V
Formation of high-valent iron-oxo species in superoxide reductase: Characterization by resonance Raman spectroscopy.
Angewandte Chemie International Edition, 2014, 53(23): 5926-5930

Rat S, Ménage S, Thomas F and Nivière V
Non-heme iron hydroperoxo species in superoxide reductase as a catalyst for oxidation reactions.
Chemical Communications (Camb), 2014, 50(91): 14213-14216



MsrPQ : un nouveau système de réparation des méthionines oxydées, impliqué dans la résistance bactérienne à HOCl.

L’acide hypochloreux HOCL est une espèce chimique très oxydante qui se révèle être particulièrement toxique pour les microorganismes. Il constitue d’ailleurs le composé actif de l’eau de Javel.

La production d’HOCL est aussi la première ligne de défense utilisée par le système immunitaire inné pour détruire les bactéries et autres microorganismes pathogènes. Après phagocytose des pathogènes par les neutrophiles ou les macrophages, l’activation de la NADPH oxydase NOX conduit à une production massive intra-phagosomale d’HOCl, qui constitue le mécanisme principal pour éliminer les pathogènes (Figure 5).


Figure 5 : Activité microbicide de neutrophile après phagocytose.

On sait que les cibles principales d’HOCl sont les méthionines des protéines bactériennes qui sont massivement oxydées en méthionine sulfoxyde (Met-S=O). Ce type d’oxydation entraîne une forte altération de la structure des protéines, induisant la perte de leur activité ainsi que de leur fonction. Rapidement ce processus conduit à la mort du pathogène.
Très récemment, en 2015, il est apparu que certaines bactéries expriment un tout nouveau type de méthionine sulfoxyde réductase (Msr) capable de neutraliser l'effet de l’HOCl en réparant les méthionines oxydées. La singularité de cette nouvelle activité Msr, appelée MsrPQ, réside en trois points principaux (Figure 6) :
i) Présence d’un cofacteur molybdène dans le site actif de MsrP, alors que toutes les Msr caractérisées jusqu'à présent ne contenaient pas de métal et fonctionnaient selon une chimie impliquant un résidu de cystéine.
ii) Localisation périplasmique.
iii) Association spécifique avec un cytochrome membranaire, appelé MsrQ, codé au sein d’un même opéron avec MsrPP.

Avec ce système multienzymatique MsrPQ, les bactéries sont capables de reverser l’effet toxique de HOCl sur les protéines périplasmiques, qui sont principalement touchées en cas de stress HOCl.


Figure 6 : Hypothèse sur l’organisation et le fonctionnement du système MsrPQ pour la réparation des méthionines oxydées (Met-S=O) par HOCl.

De façon tout à fait intéressante, certaines bactéries pathogènes intracellulaires présentent dans leurs génomes une duplication de cet opéron MsrPQ dans des régions de l’ADN associées à des îlots de pathogénicité. Cela suggère que la duplication de cet opéron pourrait avoir un rôle important pour la virulence de ces pathogènes.
Notre projet est de caractériser en détail ce nouveau système MsrPQ d’un point de vue moléculaire et structural et d’étudier les mécanismes de transfert d’électrons, les interactions spécifiques entre les différents partenaires, ainsi que les différents aspects qui peuvent contrôler son activité globale.

Collaboration
Pr Franck Fieschi, Groupe Membrane et Immunité, Institut de Biologie Structurale, 71 avenue des Martyrs, Grenoble

Publication
Juillan-Binard C, Picciocchi A, Andrieu JP, Dupuy J, Petit-Hartlein I, Caux-Thang C, Vives C, Niviere V and Fieschi F
A Two-component NADPH Oxidase (NOX)-like system in bacteria is involved in the electron transfer chain to the methionine sulfoxide reductase MsrP.
Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2017, 292(6): 2485-2494