You are here : Home > BioCat team > Research topics of the team > Iron-containing enzymes and antibacterial agents

Iron-containing enzymes and antibacterial agents

Published on 19 May 2020
The discovery of penicillin a hundred years ago was a major medical breakthrough that initiated the development of antibiotics. However, their intensive or unsuitable use led to the emergence of pathogens resistant or multi-resistant to all classes of antibiotics. This dramatic situation is leading scientists to search for (i) new molecules whose structure and mode of action differ and (ii) new targets in order to prevent resistance.

In the BioCat team, we are concerned about this problem of bacterial multidrug resistance (MDR) and two projects emerged in this context. One project is related to NAD biosynthesis in bacteria as a promising target pathway; the second project is focusing on ribosomally synthesized and post-translationally modified peptides (RiPPs) as new molecules against resistant and MDR strains. 


Biosynthesis of Nicotinamide Adenine Dinucleotide

S. Ollagnier de Choudens

Nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NAD) biosynthesis pathway constitutes an interesting metabolic pathway for the discovery of new antibacterial agents. Its biosynthesis involves the formation of quinolinic acid (QA), the biosynthesis of which is different in prokaryotes and eukaryotes. In eukaryotic organisms, QA is produced by the degradation of L-tryptophan, whereas in most prokaryotes, QA is generated from L-aspartate through the concerted action of two enzymes, the L-aspartate oxidase (NadB) and the quinolinate synthase (NadA), a 4Fe-4S containing enzyme (Figures 1 and 2). Besides these de novo syntheses of NAD, a salvage pathway exists in some organisms that enable NAD to be recycled (Figure 1). However, some pathogens such as Mycobacterium leprae and Helicobacter pylori were reported to lack this salvage pathway. The presence in prokaryotes and eukaryotes of distinct pathways for QA biosynthesis, along with the absence of the salvage pathway in some pathogenic microorganisms, makes NadA a target for the development of antibacterial agents. NadA, is a [4Fe-4S]-containing enzyme, that catalyzes the condensation between iminoaspartate (IA), generated by NadB from L-asparatate, and dihydroxyacetone phosphate (DHAP) forming quinolinic acid (QA). This process produces two water molecules and one molecule of inorganic phosphate. During the last years, we progressed extensively in the mechanism of the reaction catalysed by NadA using structural and biochemical approaches and we identified new specific inhibitors based on the first discovered inhibitor (see publications). Concerning mechanistic aspects, in the next years we aim at: (i) trapping substrates in the two active site cavities; (ii) understanding the condensation mechanism, (iii) unravelling the stereochemistry of the reaction. Concerning the antibacterial aspect, we aim at (i) optimizing the known DTHAP-derivatives inhibitors that target the Fe-S cluster; (ii) designing new inhibitors (that do not target the Fe-S cluster) and (iii) investigating QA biogenesis pathway in Gram (+) bacteria, which use different substrates (acetyl-CoA and formate) than Gram (-) bacteria and likely a different mechanism.


Figure 1: NAD biosynthesis: De novo biosynthesis and Salvage pathway.


Figure 2: (A) Formation of QA in most of prokaryotes using NadB and NadA enzymes. (B): Fe-S cluster of NadA.

Collaborations
J.C. Fontecilla-Camps (Métalloprotéines, IBS, Grenoble); P. Amara (Métalloprotéines, IBS, Grenoble); H. de Reuse and S. Cole (Institut Pasteur, Paris); O. Hamelin (BioCE, LCBM); M.O. Fauvarque (BGE, CEA-Grenoble); Y. Sing Wong (DPM, UGA, Grenoble).

Fundings
National Agency of Research (ANR NADBiO, ANR NADIN), GRAL Labex, ARCANE Labex.

Publications
Saez Cabodevilla J, Volbeda A, Hamelin O, Latour JM, Gigarel O, Clémancey M, Darnault C, Reichmann D, Amara P, Fontecilla-Camps JC and Ollagnier de Choudens S
Design of specific inhibitors of quinolinate synthase based on [4Fe-4S] cluster coordination.
Chemical Communications, 2019, 55(26): 3725-3728

Volbeda A, Saez Cabodevilla J, Darnault C, Gigarel O, Han TH, Renoux O, Hamelin O, Ollagnier-de-Choudens S, Amara P and Fontecilla-Camps JC
Crystallographic trapping of reaction intermediates in quinolinic acid synthesis by NadA.
ACS Chemical Biology, 2018, 13(5): 1209-1217

Cherrier MV, Ollagnier de Choudens S and Fontecilla-Camps JC
Fe4S4 Quinolinate Synthase (NadA).
Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry, 2016

Volbeda A, Darnault C, Renoux O, Reichmann D, Amara P, Ollagnier de Choudens S and Fontecilla-Camps JC
Crystal structures of quinolinate synthase in complex with a substrate analogue, the condensation intermediate, and substrate-derived product.
Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2016, 138(36): 11802-11809

Reichmann D, Couté Y and Ollagnier De Choudens S
Dual activity of quinolinate synthase: Triose phosphate isomerase and dehydration activities play together to form quinolinate.
Biochemistry, 2015, 54(42): 6443-6446

Cherrier MV, Chan A, Darnault C, Reichmann D, Amara P, Ollagnier de Choudens S and Fontecilla-Camps JC
The crystal structure of Fe4S4 Quinolinate synthase unravels an enzymatic dehydration mechanism that uses Tyrosine and a hydrolase-type triad.
Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2014, 136(14): 5253-5256

Chan A, Clémancey M, Mouesca JM, Amara P, Hamelin O, Latour JM and Ollagnier de Choudens S
Studies of inhibitor binding to the [4Fe-4S] cluster of quinolinate synthase.
Angewandte Chemie International Edition, 2012, 51(31): 7711-7714

Rousset C, Fontecave M and Ollagnier de Choudens S
The [4Fe-4S] cluster of quinolinate synthase from Escherichia coli: Investigation of cluster ligands.
FEBS Letters, 2008, 582(19): 2937-2944

Murthy UMN, Ollagnier-de-Choudens S, Sanakis Y, Abdel-Ghany SE, Rousset C, Ye H, Fontecave M, Pilon-Smits EA and Pilon M
Characterization of Arabidopsis thaliana SuFE2 and SuFE3: Functions in chloroplast iron-sulfur cluster assembly and NAD synthesis.
Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2007, 282(25): 18254-18264

Ollagnier-de Choudens S, Loiseau L, Sanakis Y, Barras F and Fontecave M
Quinolinate synthetase, an iron-sulfur enzyme in NAD biosynthesis.
FEBS Letters, 2005, 579(17): 3737-3743 


Biosynthesis of Ribosomally synthesized and Post-translationally modified Peptides (RiPPs)

V. Duarte, M. Atta, C. Basset, L. Shamseddine (PhD CFR CEA 2020-2023)

Biosynthesis of RiPPs involve diverse enzyme families. Among them, the radical S-Adenosylmethionine (SAM) enzymes to which we are interested in. Our work focuses on thioether bond containing antimicrobial peptides, namely sactipeptides (sulfur to alpha carbon thioether peptides) and ranthipeptides (radical non-α thioether peptides). In the sactipeptide subclass, radical SAM enzymes introduce intramolecular thioether cross-links between cysteine sulfur and the α-carbon of a partner amino acid. However, in the case of the ranthipepdes, the thioether bound involves either the ß- or the γ- carbon of the partner residue (Figure 3).


Figure 3: Biosynthesis of sactipeptides and ranthipeptides by Radical-SAM.


Our research work investigates novel radical SAM enzymes involved in the biosynthesis of thioether bond containing antimicrobial peptides. Besides the basic interest to these enzymes, we are interested by the RiPPs biosynthesis from a health point of view, as RiPPs constitute promising antimicrobial agents.

Numerous studies show that the intestinal microflora, well-known as intestinal microbiome, plays a very important role in the health of the host. Bacteriocin production is one of the major protective mechanisms implemented by commensal bacteria. We recently initiated a collaborative project on RumC antimicrobial peptides produced by Ruminococus gnavus E1, a symbiont present in the digestive tract of healthy adults. Our team developed an expression system in Escherichia coli to generate a mature RumC1 peptide strictly identical to the one naturally produced and purified from the caecal contents of R. gnavus E1 mono-associated rats. This in vitro production of RumC1 was a crucial point, as it was required to produce the mature peptide in suitable amounts for biochemical and structural characterizations as well as antimicrobial assays. We demonstrated that RumC1 belongs to the sactipeptide group of RiPPs. Combined site directed mutagenesis experiments and mass spectrometry analyses led to identify the post-translational modifications of RumC1.

Figure 4: Double hairpin-like structure of RumC1. Cysteine residues bridged via thioether bonds are shown in purple and their amino-acid partners are indicated in orange.

The heterologous maturation involving the specific radical-SAM enzyme RumMc1 establishes a novel four thioether-bond containing network, which creates a previously undescribed double-hairpin folding (Figure 4). This original structure confers to RumC1 a remarkable bactericidal activity against a wide range of target bacteria. Indeed, RumC1 is active at concentrations less than or equal to the micro-molar on laboratory strains or clinical isolates of Gram-positive pathogens, such as Clostridium difficile, Clostridium perfringens, Enterococcus faecium and Streptococcus pneumoniae, also including MDR strains (Table 1).


Table 1: Activity spectrum of RumC1 against laboratory and clinical Gram-positive pathogens. Acquired resistance to antibiotics were determined following the EUCAST 2019 clinical breakpoint tables and are indicated by "R”, whereas “i.r.” refers to “intrinsic resistance”, and * to the laboratory isolate references.

Moreover, no resistant bacterial clones have emerged following prolonged exposure to RumC1. Added to this efficacy, RumC1 is not significantly toxic to a number of human cell lines or intestinal explants. Finally, with regard to the mode of action of RumC1, we have shown that this compound is not "pore-forming" and that it seems to exert its bactericidal activity on C. perfringens by blocking the synthesis of macromolecules (i.e. nucleic acids, proteins and peptidoglycans), by most likely a yet undescribed mode of action.

Publication 
Chiumento S, Roblin C, Kieffer-Jaquinod S, Tachon S, Leprètre C, Basset C, Aditiyarini D, Olleik H, Nicoletti C, Bornet O, Iranzo O, Maresca M, Hardré R, Fons M, Giardina T, Devillard E, Guerlesquin F, Couté Y, Atta M, Perrier J, Lafond M and Duarte V
Ruminococcin C, a promising antibiotic produced by a human gut symbiont.
Science Advances, 2019, 5(9): eaaw9969

Funding
RUMBA project ANR-15-CE21-0020

Collaborations
M. Lafond, Institut des Sciences Moléculaires de Marseille; F. Guerlesquin, Institut de Microbiologie de la Méditerranée, Marseille; E. Devillard, ADISSEO SAS France, Commentry; S. Torelli, Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux, Grenoble; P. Polard, Lab. de Microbiologie et Génétique Moléculaires, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Eq. BioCat > Thématiques de recherche > Enzymes à fer et agents antibactériens

Enzymes à fer et agents antibactériens

Publié le 19 mai 2020
La découverte de la pénicilline, il y a cent ans, a constitué une avancée médicale majeure qui a lancé le développement des antibiotiques. Cependant, leur utilisation intensive ou inadaptée a conduit à l'émergence de pathogènes résistants ou multi-résistants à toutes les classes d'antibiotiques. Cette situation dramatique conduit les scientifiques d’aujourd’hui à rechercher (i) de nouvelles molécules dont la structure et le mode d'action diffèrent et (ii) de nouvelles cibles afin de prévenir la résistance.

Dans l'équipe Biocatalyse, nous sommes préoccupés par ce problème de la résistance et multi-résistance bactérienne aux antibiotiques (MDR pour « multidrug resistance ») et dans ce contexte, deux projets ont vu le jour au sein de l’équipe. L'un est lié à la biosynthèse bactérienne du NAD ; l’autre projet concerne les peptides synthétisés par voie ribosomique et modifiés post-traductionnellement (RiPPs) comme nouvelles molécules contre les souches résistantes et MDR. 


Biosynthèse du Nicotinamide Adénine Dinucléotide

S. Ollagnier de Choudens

La voie de biosynthèse du Nicotinamide adénine dinucléotide (NAD) constitue une voie métabolique intéressante pour la découverte et le développement de nouveaux agents antibactériens. Sa biosynthèse implique la formation d'acide quinolinique (QA), dont la biosynthèse diffère chez les procaryotes et les eucaryotes. Chez les eucaryotes, le QA est produit par la dégradation du L-tryptophane, tandis que chez la plupart des procaryotes, le QA est généré à partir du L-aspartate sous l'action concertée de deux enzymes, la L-aspartate oxydase (NadB) et la quinolinate synthase (NadA), une enzyme contenant un centre [4Fe-4S] (Figures 1 et 2). Outre ces synthèses de novo du NAD, il existe chez certains organismes une voie de secours qui permet le recyclage du NAD (Figure 1). Cependant, certains pathogènes tels que Mycobacterium leprae et Helicobacter pylori n'ont pas cette voie de secours. La présence chez les procaryotes et les eucaryotes de voies distinctes pour la biosynthèse du QA, ainsi que l'absence de la voie de secours chez certains pathogènes, font NadA une cible intéressante pour le développement d'agents antibactériens. NadA est une enzyme contenant un centre [4Fe-4S], qui catalyse la condensation entre l'iminoaspartate (IA), généré par NadB à partir du L-asparatate, et la dihydroxyacétone phosphate (DHAP) formant l'acide quinolinique (QA). Ces dernières années, nous avons beaucoup progressé dans la compréhension du mécanisme de la réaction catalysée par NadA en utilisant des approches structurales et biochimiques et nous avons identifié de nouveaux inhibiteurs spécifiques, basés sur le premier inhibiteur découvert (le DTHPA, ACIE en 2012). Actuellement, nos objectifs en ce qui concerne les aspects mécanistiques sont de : (i) piéger les substrats dans les deux cavités du site actif ; (ii) comprendre le mécanisme de condensation, (iii) démêler la stéréochimie de la réaction. En ce qui concerne l'aspect antibactérien, nous visons à (i) optimiser les inhibiteurs connus, dérivés du DTHAP qui ciblent le centre Fe-S ; (ii) concevoir de nouveaux inhibiteurs (qui ne ciblent pas le centre Fe-S) et (iii) étudier la voie de biogenèse du QA chez les bactéries Gram (+), qui utilisent des substrats différents (acétyl-CoA et formiate) et qui fonctionnent probablement selon un mécanisme différent.


Figure 1 : Biosynthèse du NAD : Biosynthèse de novo et Voie de secours (Salvage pathway).


Figure 2 : (A) Formation du QA chez la plupart des procaryotes utilisant NadB et NadA. (B) : Cluster Fe-S cluster de NadA.

Collaborations
J.C. Fontecilla-Camps (Métalloprotéines, IBS, Grenoble) ; P. Amara (Métalloprotéines, IBS, Grenoble) ; H. de Reuse et S. Cole (Institut Pasteur, Paris) ; O. Hamelin (BioCE, LCBM) ; M.O. Fauvarque (BGE, CEA-Grenoble) ; Y. Sing Wong (DPM, UGA, Grenoble).

Financements
Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR NADBiO, ANR NADIN), GRAL Labex, ARCANE Labex.

Selection de publications
Saez Cabodevilla J, Volbeda A, Hamelin O, Latour JM, Gigarel O, Clémancey M, Darnault C, Reichmann D, Amara P, Fontecilla-Camps JC and Ollagnier de Choudens S
Design of specific inhibitors of quinolinate synthase based on [4Fe-4S] cluster coordination.
Chemical Communications, 2019, 55(26): 3725-3728

Volbeda A, Saez Cabodevilla J, Darnault C, Gigarel O, Han TH, Renoux O, Hamelin O, Ollagnier-de-Choudens S, Amara P and Fontecilla-Camps JC
Crystallographic trapping of reaction intermediates in quinolinic acid synthesis by NadA.
ACS Chemical Biology, 2018, 13(5): 1209-1217

Cherrier MV, Ollagnier de Choudens S and Fontecilla-Camps JC
Fe4S4 Quinolinate Synthase (NadA).
Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry, 2016

Volbeda A, Darnault C, Renoux O, Reichmann D, Amara P, Ollagnier de Choudens S and Fontecilla-Camps JC
Crystal structures of quinolinate synthase in complex with a substrate analogue, the condensation intermediate, and substrate-derived product.
Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2016, 138(36): 11802-11809

Reichmann D, Couté Y and Ollagnier De Choudens S
Dual activity of quinolinate synthase: Triose phosphate isomerase and dehydration activities play together to form quinolinate.
Biochemistry, 2015, 54(42): 6443-6446

Cherrier MV, Chan A, Darnault C, Reichmann D, Amara P, Ollagnier de Choudens S and Fontecilla-Camps JC
The crystal structure of Fe4S4 Quinolinate synthase unravels an enzymatic dehydration mechanism that uses Tyrosine and a hydrolase-type triad.
Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2014, 136(14): 5253-5256

Chan A, Clémancey M, Mouesca JM, Amara P, Hamelin O, Latour JM and Ollagnier de Choudens S
Studies of inhibitor binding to the [4Fe-4S] cluster of quinolinate synthase.
Angewandte Chemie International Edition, 2012, 51(31): 7711-7714

Rousset C, Fontecave M and Ollagnier de Choudens S
The [4Fe-4S] cluster of quinolinate synthase from Escherichia coli: Investigation of cluster ligands.
FEBS Letters, 2008, 582(19): 2937-2944

Murthy UMN, Ollagnier-de-Choudens S, Sanakis Y, Abdel-Ghany SE, Rousset C, Ye H, Fontecave M, Pilon-Smits EA and Pilon M
Characterization of Arabidopsis thaliana SuFE2 and SuFE3: Functions in chloroplast iron-sulfur cluster assembly and NAD synthesis.
Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2007, 282(25): 18254-18264

Ollagnier-de Choudens S, Loiseau L, Sanakis Y, Barras F and Fontecave M
Quinolinate synthetase, an iron-sulfur enzyme in NAD biosynthesis.
FEBS Letters, 2005, 579(17): 3737-3743 


Biosynthèse de peptides produits par voie ribosomique et modifiés post-traductionnellement (RiPPs)

V. Duarte, M. Atta, C. Basset, L. Shamseddine (PhD CFR CEA 2020-2023)

La biosynthèse des RiPPs fait intervenir plusieurs familles d'enzymes. Parmi elles, nous nous intéressons aux enzymes Radical-SAM. Nos travaux concernent les peptides antimicrobiens contenant des liaisons thioéther, à savoir les sactipeptides et les ranthipeptides. Dans la sous-classe des sactipeptides, les enzymes Radical-SAM introduisent des liaisons thioéther intramoléculaires entre le soufre d’une Cys et le carbone α d'un autre acide aminé. Cependant, dans le cas des ranthipepdes, la liaison thioéther implique soit le carbone ß-, soit le carbone γ- du résidu partenaire (Figure 3).


Figure 3 : Les enzymes Radical-SAM dans la biosynthèse des sactipeptides et ranthipeptides.


Nos travaux de recherche concernent des nouvelles enzymes Radical-SAM impliquées dans la biosynthèse de peptides antimicrobiens contenant des liaisons thioéther. Outre l'intérêt fondamental pour ces enzymes, nous nous intéressons à la biosynthèse des RiPPs d'un point de vue santé humaine. En effet, ces composés constituent une alternative prometteuse notamment dans la lutte contre la résistance bactérienne aux antibiotiques.

De nombreuses études montrent que la microflore intestinale, connue sous le nom de microbiome intestinal, joue un rôle très important dans la santé de l'hôte. Par exemple, la production de bactériocines est l'un des principaux mécanismes de protection mis en œuvre par les bactéries commensales. Nous avons récemment initié en collaboration un projet sur les peptides antimicrobiens RumC produits par Ruminococus gnavus E1, un symbiote présent dans le tube digestif d’environ 90 % de la population. Notre groupe a développé un système d'expression hétérologue chez Escherichia coli pour générer un peptide RumC1 strictement identique à celui produit in vivo par R. gnavus E1. La production in vitro de RumC1 était un point crucial. En effet il est nécessaire de produire le peptide en quantité suffisante dans le but de le caractériser au niveau biochimique et structural mais également afin d’évaluer son activité biologique. Nous avons démontré que RumC1 appartient au groupe des sactipeptides. Des expériences de mutagenèse dirigée combinées à des analyses par spectrométrie de masse nous ont permis d'identifier sans ambiguïté les modifications post-traductionnelles de RumC1.

Figure 4 : Modèle structural en double épingle de RumC1. Les résidus Cys, pontés par des liaisons thioéther, sont représentés en violet et leurs partenaires sont indiqués en orange.

La maturation spécifique de RumC1, impliquant l'enzyme Radical-SAM RumMc1, établit un réseau original de quatre liaisons thioéther qui contraint le peptide dans une structure en double épingle (Figure 4). Cette structure confère à RumC1 une activité bactéricide remarquable contre un large éventail de bactéries cibles. En effet, RumC1 est actif à des concentrations inférieures ou égales au micro-molaire sur des souches de laboratoire ou des isolats cliniques de pathogènes Gram-positifs, tels que Clostridium difficile, Clostridium perfringens, Enterococcus faecium et Streptococcus pneumoniae, y compris des souches multi-résistantes aux antibiotiques courants (Tableau 1).


Tableau 1 : Spectre d'activité de RumC1 contre des pathogènes Gram-positifs de laboratoire et des souches cliniques. La résistance acquise aux antibiotiques a été déterminée selon les tableaux de l'EUCAST 2019 et est indiquée par "R", tandis que "i.r." fait référence à la "résistance intrinsèque" et * aux isolats référence de laboratoire.

De façon intéressante, aucun clone bactérien résistant de C. perfringens, n'est apparu à la suite d'une exposition prolongée à RumC1. En plus de cette efficacité, RumC1 n'est pas significativement toxique sur différentes lignées cellulaires humaines ou explants intestinaux. Enfin, en ce qui concerne le mode d'action de RumC1, ce composé ne crée pas de trous dans la membrane cellulaire et il semble exercer son activité bactéricide sur C. perfringens en bloquant la synthèse de macromolécules (acides nucléiques, protéines, peptidoglycane).

Publication 
Chiumento S, Roblin C, Kieffer-Jaquinod S, Tachon S, Leprètre C, Basset C, Aditiyarini D, Olleik H, Nicoletti C, Bornet O, Iranzo O, Maresca M, Hardré R, Fons M, Giardina T, Devillard E, Guerlesquin F, Couté Y, Atta M, Perrier J, Lafond M and Duarte V
Ruminococcin C, a promising antibiotic produced by a human gut symbiont.
Science Advances, 2019, 5(9): eaaw9969

Financement
RUMBA project ANR-15-CE21-0020

Collaborations
M. Lafond, Institut des Sciences Moléculaires de Marseille ; F. Guerlesquin, Institut de Microbiologie de la Méditerranée, Marseille ; E. Devillard, ADISSEO SAS France, Commentry ; S. Torelli, Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux, Grenoble ; P. Polard, Lab. de Microbiologie et Génétique Moléculaires, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse.